About Us

“The Universe is full of spiritual and philosophical gems. Deeper search will produce better gems.” – Maharaja Sri Vasudevananda Sarasvati

The Georgia Philosophy Foundation is a not-for-profit adult educational organization that has been offering classes and meditation in Albany since 1991.

It is affiliated with the School of Economic Science, which had its beginnings in London in the 1930s with a group that was formed to discover the underlying factors which led to the economic depression of those times.

By the 1950’s it became apparent that economics as a study was too small in scope, and that only a larger study, a study that dealt with man’s relation to the universe, his ultimate purpose, and his true nature, would be sufficient to improve the world situation. Thus the study of philosophy began, and it continues to this day.

In the 1960’s, the School’s founder, Leon Maclaren travelled to India and met with Maharaja Sri Shantananda Sarasvati, a spiritual leader in the Advaita tradition. During the meetings, which continued over the years, Mr. Maclaren posed questions on behalf of members of the School of Economic Science and other affiliated schools. The meetings were recorded, transcribed and form the basis of the material for later philosophy groups within the organization.

Advaita Vedanta is a philosophical tradition originating in the ancient past but propounded in recorded history by Shankara around 800 AD and more recently by Swami Ramatirtha and Vivekananda who visited the United States. Its essential message is that consciousness is the basis from which the universe springs, and that mankind’s highest capacity and aim it to reawaken this consciousness within himself. This means a unified life, lived happily and truly, which means harmony within oneself and with the world outside under all conditions. It means a life of strength without loss of receptivity, love without loss of judgment, and insight without the touch of pride.

Leon MacLaren and Maharaja Sri Shantananda Sarasvati passed away in 1994 and 1997, respectively. Meetings continue today between their successors.